Reclaiming My Face

Snapshot_20150706_5

Sometimes I feel like this, like everyone is watching me and judging me.  Judging me for being fat. Judging my clothes. Judging my makeup. I went out of my way so that people would ignore me. I didn’t want to call attention to myself. Because of this for the longest time I wouldn’t wear makeup.  But since I started this journey of loving myself as exactly as I am today, I’ve decided to wear makeup again.  After all, I’m not really dressing up because I want other people to look at me.  I’m dressing up because it makes me feel good when I think I look cute. All right, so maybe 20% of me dressing up is wanting to appear attractive to other people, but a full 80% is because I enjoy getting made up and dressed up, because it makes me feel good about myself.

Today, I put on a lip, a bright reddish lip.  I knew that I wasn’t going to work.  I knew that I was probably going to spend the day writing and cleaning, but I put on a lip anyway.  I undid my braids and fluffed up my fro and I took some pictures.

Snapshot_20150706_12

I felt instantly better about myself because I made an effort to take care of myself, to look good for myself. Most of the time I work from home, but I think that I’m going to continue to make an effort to doll myself up.  It makes me feel good.

Thanks for Reading,

XOXOXOXOXO

Karen

Leave a Reply

