I’m on a Diet. Yes, a diet.

Hey All,

I have started a diet.  I’m going to call it a diet because that is exactly what it is. According to Merriam-Webster.com, the definition of diet is as follows: a regimen of eating and drinking sparingly so as to reduce one’s weight. That is what I am doing. I am eating and drinking sparingly so that I can reduce my weight. I’m not making a lifestyle change. I suspect that once I’ve lost all the weight that I want to lose, I won’t be following this particular plan anymore. Weight loss program is just a word shade for people who don’t want to deal with the word diet and its connotations. I have no problem with the word diet or with being on a diet, because all diets end. I don’t have to eat like this for the rest of my life. I will always have to monitor my food intake, but I won’t always be on a diet.

In the past I have had an all or nothing attitude towards eating and exercise. If I wasn’t eating perfectly all the time (low calorie, low fat) then I was eating whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted. I couldn’t find a middle ground, I was either on a diet or I was completely out of control.  I don’t like being out of control.  That’s why I feel good about being on diet right now.  I’m in control of what I’m eating.

When I’m not in control of my eating I feel hopeless.  I feel like I’m in free fall and I feel like I’m killing myself slowly

Me at 407lbs
Me at 407 lbs

Being on a diet helps me feel as if I’m taking control of my health, as if I’m taking care of myself.  That being said, I’m looking forward to my cheat day, every Friday.

Thanks for Reading,

Karen

Leave a Reply

