I Think Overachieving Made Me Fat

Hey All,

I don’t know if I have ever thought of myself as an overachiever. When I think of overachievers I think of Steve Urkel types. I think of geniuses. I think of straight A students. I was never the top student in my high school class. I mean I graduated in the top five percent of my class, but I wasn’t the valedictorian or the salutatorian. I struggled in college.  I was struggling with a mental illness and I was working two jobs as well as carrying a load of five classes a semester.  I was a double major.  I’m a recovering perfectionist and I know that I’m hard on myself. Anyways, I didn’t realize until recently that being an overachiever has contributed to my weight problem.

During my summers home from college, I worked. I often worked two jobs. I also worked during the school year. Looking back, it was obviously not a good idea to work as a full time college student, but I cannot change the past. I have to let it go and move on. I have always been a busy person. I have always worked a lot. I have always set high goals for myself and worked hard to achieve them.  I have three graduate degrees.  I was working my way towards my fourth when I burnt out. My point is that I have spent a considerable amount of time going, going, going. Because I have spent so much time moving and moving, self care has not been a priority. When I work and work and work, I wind up living off fast food and not making it to the gym. I also wind up comforting myself with food. I’m done with all of that shit.

Hello, my name is Karen, and I am a recovering overachiever. I recently got a new gig and I’m still trying to be a writer, but I’m working very hard not to fall into my old patterns of overachieving.  Pray for me.

Thanks for Reading,

Karen 

Leave a Reply

