Top Ten Reasons I Hate Being Fat #8: I Can’t Travel While I’m This Fat

I want to travel.  I have always dreamed of going to Paris.  I’m not sure why.  I have always wanted to travel period.  I want to travel to Europe.  I’ve always wanted to go to England, Spain and France.  I’m not sure why.  I know I want to do tourist type things like see the Eiffel Tower and Buckingham Palace.  When I was younger I thought of all the adventures that I would have in Paris or London.   Usually my adventure would include some sort of paranormal activity.  Sometimes they would involve saving the world like the Xmen, but in the midst of the adventure I would have lots of fun with my great and supportive friends and maybe a romance or two.  I have always had a very active imagination.   I want to see the world.  I can’t do that when I’m this fat.

I don’t want to buy two airplane seats because of my extra large ass.  I don’t want to have to ask a flight attendant for a seat belt extender.  I don’t want to have to face the frightened stares of the people around me who are afraid that I will sit next to them.  I already know that I won’t be able to fit in an airplane bathroom.  So one of the reasons that I want to lose weight is that I want to travel.  It’s not so much that I want to travel internationally–I do–but I’d also like to be able to fly domestically.

Travelling by bus or train is no picnic for me either.   Eight years ago I moved from Boston to a little town called State College in central Pennsylvania.  I have a car, but I chose to travel home by bus and train.  I have severe anxiety about driving new places, and driving long distances, but that is a whole other post.  Usually there aren’t many perks for a big girl traveling, but being the fat girl has its advantages.  People let me have my own seat.  There are not very many people anxious to sit next to me and only get half a seat.  On the other hand, I don’t fit well into the tiny bathrooms on buses and trains.  I have issues with public bathrooms (Thanks OCD), I get icked out if any surface of the toilet touches my bare skin.  In a bus bathroom–I have no choice but to touch the toilet.  As soon as I step into one of these bathrooms part of my body is either touching the sink or the toilet.  Just writing about this gives me visions of E.Coli and fecal matter dancing in my head.  Making matters worse, my stomach always acts up when I travel.  If I eat anything my stomach flips out and I wind up with the runs.  Access to a bathroom is a must.

I’m hoping that through this journey, I will be able to achieve my goal of seeing the world.

Thanks for Reading!

Leave a Reply

