My Many Reasons Not To Diet This Week

Ok, so this past week was the beginning of 2012, in case you didn’t know.  So like the rest of the world I came up with some resolutions.  My weight loss resolutions are as follows:

  1. I will workout 5 days a week.
  2. I will rejoin Weight Watchers.
  3. I will use a food journal.
  4. I will make my dreams come true.

I’m working on #1. I’ve set up personal training appointments. I’ve gone back to Aqua fit. #2-4 need work.  I’m having issues with healthy eating. I actually have a list of reasons why I’m not eating healthy. I’ve adapted this from an exercise that I found in this really great book on writing, Write-A-Thon by Rochelle Melander. The exercise asks you to make a list of all the reasons you think that you can’t write and then to brainstorm solutions to those problems and also to truthfully examine which of those reason might be pure BS.  So I decided to make a list of all the reasons why I think I can’t eat healthy. Here they are:

  • I don’t have the time to plan healthy meals.
  • I don’t have the time to cook/prepare healthy meals.
  • I don’t have the money to buy healthy food.
  • I’m too busy looking for a job to go back to Weight Watchers.
  • Keeping a food journal is too much of a hassle.

I’m sure that I have a lot more reasons to not eat healthy, but these are the reasons that presented themselves to me late last night. Now I need to brainstorm possible solutions.

I don’t have the time to plan healthy meals. This is BS pure and simple. Now that the semester is over I don’t have anything but time. Also how long would it take to plan meals for a week?

I don’t have the time to cook/prepare healthy meals. I’m not a chef. I wouldn’t be cooking any meals except maybe dinner. Actually, I probably wouldn’t even cook dinner since my sister cooks and she cooks healthy meals.

I don’t have the money to buy healthy food. More BS. The money I spend on fast food I could easily spend at the grocery store and probably get more food for my money.

I’m too busy looking for a job to go back to Weight Watchers. Really? I can’t believe that my mind came up with that one. I don’t spend 24/7 looking for a job and honestly I’m waiting to see if Community College of Philadelphia will ask me back to teach some courses this semester. My boss told me that she would know in about a week so I shouldn’t be worried until after Monday, 1/16/12.

Keeping a food journal is too much of a hassle. I already have an account set up with myfitnesspal.com and I spend a ridiculous amount of time online already. So that’s not much of an excuse.

Now what? I’ve poked holes in most of the excuses I’ve made for not eating better, exposed them for the utter bullshit that they were, so now what?  Now I guess I have to deal with the underlying reasons that I concocted those excuses to begin with. The real scary reasons why I’m still fat when I want desperately to be thin. I’ll begin exploring those in my next couple of posts.

Thanks for reading.

 

2 thoughts on “My Many Reasons Not To Diet This Week

  1. I love reading your posts because you put things into words that were only fetal subconscious thoughts I’ve had time and again! Someone I respect said to me once not to make decisions based on fear. Is there any fear involved here for you? Mine was, in regards to quitting smoking, a fear of not having something to do with my hands when I was nervous, and therefore be exposed for the fraud I am (or socially awkward person I am), and my other fear was if I quit smoking, I would lose my “social circle” and point of contact (in Denmark). I don’t know, you just got me thinking… ❤

Leave a Reply

