Karen the Magnificent

I can stand my own 

I’m magnificent

I’m a queen on a throne

I’m the magnificent

Shame by Jill Scott

I need to start believing that I am a queen. It’s not about being arrogant and putting myself above other people, it’s about treating myself as indispensable, as regal, as special. I was watching Elizabeth: The Golden Age the other day and I was impressed by the way that Elizabeth behaved.  She didn’t permit her courtiers or foreign dignitaries to speak to her in a disrespectful way and she treated every day as if it was an event. There is a scene in the movie where she is being dressed by her ladies in waiting. She’s in a room surrounded by dresses on dress forms and she is making her decision on what dress she wants to wear that day. She dressed with intention. Dressing required careful decision making, from her wig to her dress to her jewelry.

Too often I just throw clothes on. If it fits and it’s clean I put it on and go out in the world that way. I reason that I’m so big that no one is looking at me anyway. I’m so big that my clothes don’t make a difference. But they do. When you look good you feel good. If I dress as if I am beautiful, as if I am a queen than I will project that. I will project self confidence. I will project that I am a queen.  Here are some style rules that I will be following:

  1. Dresses-I’ve been wearing pants almost exclusively for far too long. It’s time for some femininity. I will be buying and wearing dresses until further notice.
  2. Choose Accessories Carefully– I have a fair amount of beautiful jewelry, but not all of it goes together. I tend to wear it all together so that I can see it all the time. What I will do is choose jewelry for each outfit. No, I won’t be robbing any banks to pay for my new jewelry collection. Costume jewelry looks beautiful even if it is not real.
  3. Heels Glorious Heels-I’m not advocating sky high stillettos or six inch heels, but a little can go a long way. I’ve heard that your body looks differently when you are wearing heels. I think that I can rock a 1 1/2 inch to a 2 inch heel without sacrificing much comfort and balance.
  4. Treat Everyday Like it’s an Event-Elizabeth led a public life. She was almost never alone. She had to project strength and confidence every day and she did that partially through how she dressed, how she presented herself to England and to the world. I have to decide how I want the world to view me and then dress accordingly.
Until Next Time,
Karen
Leave a Reply

